Find A PhysicianHome  |  Library  |  myDownstate  |  Newsroom  |  A-Z Guide  |  E-mail  |  Contact Us  |  Directions
curve gif

RESEARCH CONTACTS

Organizational / Functional Telephone Directory

If you know which Office or function you want to reach, select from the following options. If you need help in figuring out which Office or function you need, scroll through the document for a description of each. (Note: Phone numbers underlined may be dialed directly.)

Research Foundation Operations Manager | Office of Scientific Affairs | Division of Sponsored Programs | Institutional Review Board | Downstate Biotechnology Park | Office of Research Administration | Research Personnel Division | Research Account Support Division

Account Establishment | Benefits Counseling | Cost Sharing | Employee Changes | Employment Offers | RF Extra Service | Fellowship Appointments | Personnel Forms Processing | Human Subject Review (IRB) | IFR Appointments | Immigration | RF Labor Relations | Orientation | RF Online Network | Personnel Appointments | Personnel Policy Interpretation | Position Classification | Pre-Employment Processing | Proposal Review | Proposal Approval | Recruitment | Salary Surveys | Time & Attendance



Senior Vice President for Biomedical Education and Research
Ian L.Taylor, M.D., Ph.D.
Senior Vice President for Biomedical Education and Research
Dean of the College of Medicine
Operations Manager
BSB 1-9
718-270-3776
718-270-4074 (fax)
ian.taylor@downstate.edu
Steven Levine, M.D.
Associate Dean for Clinical Research and Faculty Development, College of Medicine
Professor, Department of Neurology
BSB 1-9
718-270-3776
718-270-4074 (fax)
steven.levine@downstate.edu

Richard Coico, Ph.D.

Vice Dean for Scientific Affairs

Professor of Cell Biology and Medicine

BSB 1-9

718-613-8702

718-270-4074 (fax)

richard.coico@downstate.edu

Mark Stewart, M.D., Ph.D.
Vice Dean for Basic Research, College of Medicine
Dean, School of Graduate Studies
BSB 3-114
718-270-2740
718-270-3378 (fax)
mark.stewart@downstate.edu


Research Foundation Operations Manager
It is the responsibility of the Operations Manager to insure that all Research Foundation functions assigned to the campus are performed in accordance with the policies, guidelines and procedures of the Foundation.
Paul J. Davis
Interin Chief Financial Officer
BSB 1-62
718-270-3176
718-270-4161 (fax)
paul.davis@downstate.edu
 

Office of Scientific Affairs
BSB 2-71E ... Phone: 718-270-2680 ... Fax: 718-270-3942
The responsibility of the Office of Scientific Affairs is to facilitate basic and clinical research, foster interdisciplinary research, oversee center-wide research core facilities and the Center's Division of Laboratory Animal Resources, and provide research development support.
Eva B. Cramer, Ph.D.
Vice President for Biotechnology and Scientific Affairs
BSB 2-87
718-270-1011
718-270-3732 (fax)
eva.cramer@downstate.edu
John M. Allen
Assistant Vice President for Scientific Affairs
BSB 2-71E
718-270-2680
718-270-3942 (fax)
john.allen@downstate.edu

Office of Scientific Affairs - Division of Sponsored Programs
BSB 2-71E ... Phone: 718-270-2680 ... Fax: 718-270-3942
The Division of Sponsored Programsprovides assistance to Investigators through the identification and dissemination of research funding information, individualized grants advisement, and grant application review and endorsement. Grant application materials from a variety of research sponsors are available for distribution.
Robin Nesby
Director / Sponsored Programs
BSB 2-71E
718-270-2680
718-270-3942 (fax)
robin.nesby@downstate.edu
 
Proposal Review
Proposal Approval
Account Establishment
Clinical Trial Agreements
Material Transfer Agreements
Confidentiality Agreements
Margaret Briggs
Sponsored Programs Associate
BSB 2-71E
718-613-8550
718-270-3942 (fax)
margaret.briggs@downstate.edu
 
Sponsor Information
Proposal Review
[vacant]
Sponsored Programs Associate
BSB 2-71E
718-613-8551
718-270-3942 (fax)
@downstate.edu
 
Sponsor Information
Proposal Review
[vacant]
Office Manager
BSB 2-71E
718-270-2680
718-270-3942 (fax)
@downstate.edu
 
Sponsor Information
Human Subject Review (IRB)

Office of Scientific Affairs - Institutional Review Board
BSB 3-26 ... Phone: 718-613-8480 ... Fax: 718-613-8497
Downstate Medical Center's Institutional Review Board staff provides assistance to Investigators in the preparation and processing protocols involving the use of human subjects in research.
Nicole McNair
IRB Administrator
BSB 3-26
718-613-8485
718-613-8497 (fax)
nicole.mcnair@downstate.edu
 
Human Subject Protocol Review (IRB)
Diann Johnson
Associate IRB Administrator
BSB 3-26
718-270-4341
718-613-8497 (fax)
diann.johnson@downstate.edu
 
Human Subject Protocol Review (IRB)
Tamara Telfort
Associate IRB Administrator
BSB 3-26
718-270-4411
718-613-8497 (fax)
tamara.telfort@downstate.edu
 
Human Subject Protocol Review (IRB)
Nakih Gonzales
Clerical Specialist II
BSB 3-26
718-270-4372
718-613-8497 (fax)
nakih.gonzales@downstate.edu
 
Human Subject Protocol Review (IRB)

Office of Scientific Affairs - Downstate Biotechnology Park
The Downstate Biotechnology Park is an important part of the plan to create a vibrant, urban Technology and Health Services Development Zone adjacent to Downstate.
David Norton
Assistant Director
BSB 2-87
718-270-4632
718-270-3732 (fax)
david.norton@downstate.edu
 
Development of Biotech Incubator facility
Sam Kiel
Program Manager
BSB 2-87
718-270-4358
718-270-3732 (fax)
sam.kiel@downstate.edu
 
Development of Biotech Incubator facility

Office of Scientific Affairs - Clinical Trial Support
The Clinical Trial Support function is intended to facilitate the development and execution of clinical trials by assisting the clinical faculty to identify new studies, prepare study budgets.

Director

718-270-
718-270- (fax)
@downstate.edu
 
Motria Mishko
Research Pharmacist
UH ALL1-514A
718-270-4340
718-270-3732 (fax)
motria.mishko@downstate.edu
 
Provide drug storage and preparation
Maintain study blinding records
Sima Terebelo
Clinical Study Coordinator
BSB BM-130H
718-270-8216
718-270-3732 (fax)
sima.terebelo@downstate.edu


Office of Research Administration
The Office of Research Administration provides assistance to the faculty to ensure that spending on sponsored programs is conducted in a manner consistent with approved budgets and the policies and procedures of the sponsoring agencies and the Research Foundation.
Antony Selvadurai, MBA
Assistant Vice President
ADMFAC 110
718-270-1178
718-270-1407 (fax)
tony.selvadurai@downstate.edu
 
Supervise Office of Research Administration
Arlene A. Edwards-Bones
Administrative Staff Assistant
ADMFAC 110
718-270-1178
718-270-1407 (fax)
arlene.edwards-bones@downstate.edu
 
Office Manager

Keith Darby
Clerk I
ADMFAC 110
718-270-8202
718-270-1407 (fax)
keith.darby@downstate.edu

 
File Clerk

Office of Research Administration - Research Account Support Division
The Research Account Support Division is responsible for reviewing and approving all purchases of supplies and equipment through the Research Foundation procurement mechanism.
Negussie Bogale
Assistant Director
ADMFAC 110
718-270-1178
718-270-1407 (fax)
negussie.bobale@downstate.edu
 
Supervise Accounts Support Division
Veronica Degroot
Grant Manager
ADMFAC 110
718-270-2719
718-270-1407 (fax)
veronica.degroot@downstate.edu
 
Cash Receipts, Consultants, Equipment/Supplies, Interim/Final Reports, Payment Review, Petty Cash/Subject Fees, Subcontracts, Travel
Elizabeth George
Accounts Payable Manager
ADMFAC 110
718-270-1369
718-270-1407 (fax)
elizabeth.george@downstate.edu
 
Accounts Payable
Jackie HoSang
Assistant Grant Manager
ADMFAC 110
718-270-1161
718-270-1407 (fax)
jackie.hosang@downstate.edu
 
Cash Receipts, Consultants, Equipment/Supplies, Interim/Final Reports, Payment Review, Petty Cash/Subject Fees, Subcontracts, Travel
Marcel Kennedy
Grant Manager
ADMFAC 110
718-270-1358
718-270-1407 (fax)
marcel.kennedy@downstate.edu
 
Cash Receipts, Consultants, Equipment/Supplies, Interim/Final Reports, Payment Review, Petty Cash/Subject Fees, Subcontracts, Travel
Olga Papirova
Grant Manager
ADMFAC 110
718-270-4153
718-270-1407 (fax)
olga.papirova@downstate.edu
 
Cash Receipts, Consultants, Equipment/Supplies, Interim/Final Reports, Payment Review, Petty Cash/Subject Fees, Subcontracts, Travel
Vijai Persaud
Clerk III
ADMFAC 110
718-270-6723
718-270-1407 (fax)
vijai.persaud@downstate.edu
 
Accounts Payable
Laisa Quezada
Purchasing Associate
ADMFAC 110
718-270-1118
718-270-1407 (fax)
brenda.schoenberger@downstate.edu
 
Purchasing
Betty Sims
Clerk III
ADMFAC 110
718-270-1130
718-270-1407 (fax)
betty.sims@downstate.edu
 
Accounts Payable

Office of Research Administration - Personnel/Payroll Division
The Personnel/Payroll Division of the Office of Research Administration provides institution-wide technical assistance on personnel and payroll matters to all Investigators, administrative staff and Research Foundation employees.
Annette Gibbs
Assistant Director / Payroll
ADMFAC 110
718-270-1178
718-270-1407 (fax)
annette.gibbs@downstate.edu
 
Supervise Payroll Division
Gary Leipzig
Assistant Director / Personnel
ADMFAC 110
718-270-1182
718-270-1407 (fax)
gary.leipzig@downstate.edu
 
Supervise Personnel Division
Labor Relations
Oracle System Security
Taiwo Alamu
Administrative Staff Assistant II
ADMFAC 110
718-270-7356
718-270-1407 (fax)
taiwo.alamu@downstate.edu
 
Classification & Compensation, Affirmative Action, PARS (effort reporting), New Appointments, Time & Attendance - Exempt
Cynthia Lewis (Payroll)
Administrative Assistant
ADMFAC 110
718-270-4728
718-270-1407 (fax)
cynthia.lewis@downstate.edu
 
Forms Processing, Payroll Distribution, Employment Verification, Tax Information
Kwame Luke (Personnel/Payroll)
Administrative Staff Assistant I
ADMFAC 110
718-270-7356
718-270-1407 (fax)
kwame.luke@downstate.edu
 
Classification and Compensation, Review/Process Change Forms, Fringe Benefits, Time & Attendance - Hourly, Disability
Rocco Napoleone (Personnel)
Benefits Manager
ADMFAC 110
718-270-1108
718-270-1407 (fax)
rocco.napoleone@downstate.edu
 
Benefits Counseling, Employment Offers, Extra Service, Immigration, Orientation, Pre-Employment Processing
Manelle Pyronneau
Administrative Staff Assistant II
ADMFAC 110
718-270-8201
718-270-1407 (fax)
manelle.pyronneau@downstate.edu
 
IFR Appointments, Cost Sharing, Time & Attendance -Non-Exempt